BELGRADE – World No. 1 Novak Djokovic captured a record fifth BNP Paribas Open crown in emphatic style on Sunday as he defeated Milos Raonic 6-2, 6-0 in the Indian Wells final.

Victory sees the Serb draw level with Rafael Nadal on 27 ATP World Tour Masters 1000 crowns and extends the ‘Big Four’ dominance at this level, with Djokovic, Nadal, Roger Federer and Andy Murray having won 49 of the past 53 Masters 1000 tournaments.

The 28-year-old Djokovic has a 46-6 tournament record at the Indian Wells Tennis Garden, winning the title in 2008, 2011 and then completing the three-peat between 2014-16. He also reached the final in 2007, finishing runner-up to Nadal.