BELGRADE — The majority of Macedonian parliament’s lawmakers voted on Tuesday to reject the impeachment of President Gjorge Ivanov, local media reported.

A total of 47 lawmakers voted against the motion, while 35 supported the impeachment, the Macedonian Nova television channel said.

Lawmakers from the Social Democratic Union of Macedonia (SDSM), together with supporters from other opposition parties, submitted a proposal to the parliament to hold a vote on Ivanov’s impeachment in April, after his decision to terminate investigation against 56 governmental officials involved in a wiretapping scandal.

The calls to suspend the country’s president continued despite the withdrawal of pardons by Ivanov.